CRS Issue Statement on Europe: Regional Policy, Bilateral Relations, and Key Issues

This report provides a statement on the United States' relationship with Europe.

CRS Issue Statement on Europe: Regional Policy, Bilateral Relations, and Key Issues Derek E. Mix, Coordinator Analyst in European Affairs January 27, 2014 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R43375 CRS Issue Statement on Europe: Regional Policy, Bilateral Relations, and Key Issues Europe and U.S.-European relations continue to undergo a long-term process of evolution. Numerous regional concerns persist, but U.S. policymakers now tend to view Europe mainly as a potential counterpart in addressing common challenges, and less as an object of attention in and of itself. Overall regional policy is set in the context of overlapping institutions, including the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the European Union (EU), and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE). At the same time, the United States maintains strong interests and active bilateral relations with the individual countries of Europe. National developments and bilateral cooperation are therefore of frequent interest to the U.S. Congress. Members of Congress also frequently engage in a range of key issues that have implications within Europe and for the transatlantic partnership. Author Contact Information Derek E. Mix, Coordinator Analyst in European Affairs dmix@crs.loc.gov, 7-9116 Hannah Fischer Information Research Specialist hfischer@crs.loc.gov, 7-8989 Vincent L. Morelli Section Research Manager vmorelli@crs.loc.gov, 7-8051 James K. Jackson Specialist in International Trade and Finance jjackson@crs.loc.gov, 7-7751 Kristin Archick Specialist in European Affairs karchick@crs.loc.gov, 7-2668 Michael Ratner Specialist in Energy Policy mratner@crs.loc.gov, 7-9529 Paul Belkin Analyst in European Affairs pbelkin@crs.loc.gov, 7-0220 Steven Woehrel Specialist in European Affairs swoehrel@crs.loc.gov, 7-2291 Carl Ek Specialist in International Relations cek@crs.loc.gov, 7-7286 Congressional Research Service 1