The Debt Limit: CRS Experts

The Debt Limit: CRS Experts Donald J. Marples Section Research Manager July 28, 2011 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R41943 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress The Debt Limit: CRS Experts The following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to the debt limit and legislative proposals to raise the debt limit. Policy areas identified include • cross-cutting debt limit issues; • domestic social policy-related programs and agencies; • foreign affairs, defense, and trade-related programs and agencies; and • agriculture, environment, natural resources, science and technology, and transportation programs and agencies. Table 1. The Debt Limit: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Mindy R. Levit Analyst in Public Finance 7-7792 mlevit@crs.loc.gov Marc Labonte Specialist in Macroeconomic Policy 7-0640 mlabonte@crs.loc.gov D. Andrew Austin Analyst in Economic Policy 7-6552 aaustin@crs.loc.gov Bill Heniff Jr. Analyst on Congress and the Legislative Process 7-8646 wheniff@crs.loc.gov Megan Suzanne Lynch Analyst on Congress and the Legislative Process 7-7853 mlynch@crs.loc.gov Expedited process Christopher M. Davis Analyst on Congress and the Legislative Process 7-0656 cmdavis@crs.loc.gov Legal issues Todd B. Tatelman Legislative Attorney 7-4697 ttatelman@crs.loc.gov Thomas J. Nicola Legislative Attorney 7-5004 tnicola@crs.loc.gov Kenneth R. Thomas Legislative Attorney 7-5006 kthomas@crs.loc.gov Ida A. Brudnick Analyst on the Congress 7-6460 ibrudnick@crs.loc.gov R. Eric Petersen Specialist in American National Government 7-0643 epetersen@crs.loc.gov Clinton T. Brass Analyst in Government Organization and Management 7-4536 cbrass@crs.loc.gov Virginia A. McMurtry Specialist in American National Government 7-8678 vmcmurtry@crs.loc.gov General debt limit issues Impact of Reaching the Debt Limit on economy and financial markets Spending caps, sequestration, and other budget process Cross-cutting issues Congressional operations Executive branch operations Congressional Research Service 1 The Debt Limit: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Lorraine H. Tong Analyst in American National Government 7-5846 ltong@crs.loc.gov Denis Steven Rutkus Specialist on the Federal Judiciary 7-7162 drutkus@crs.loc.gov Entitlement Payments Kathleen S. Swendiman Legislative Attorney 7-9105 kswendiman@crs.loc.gov Government contracts law Kate M. Manuel Legislative Attorney 7-4477 kmanuel@crs.loc.gov Kathleen S. Swendiman Legislative Attorney 7-9105 kswendiman@crs.loc.gov Kathleen S. Swendiman Legislative Attorney 7-9105 kswendiman@crs.loc.gov Judiciary operations Federal grants law Domestic social policy-related programs and agencies Medicare and Medicaid Patricia A. Davis Specialist in Health Care Financing 7-7362 pdavis@crs.loc.gov Pell Grants Shannon M. Mahan Specialist in Education Policy 7-7759 smahan@crs.loc.gov David P. Smole Specialist in Education Policy 7-0624 dsmole@crs.loc.gov Social Security Dawn Nuschler Specialist in Income Security 7-6283 dnuschler@crs.loc.gov Unemployment insurance Katelin P. Isaacs Analyst in Income Security 7-7355 kisaacs@crs.loc.gov Discretionary Health Programs C. Stephen Redhead Specialist in Health Policy 7-2261 credhead@crs.loc.gov Social Security/SSI Disability Determinations Scott Szymendera Analyst in Disability Policy 7-0014 sszymendera@crs.loc.gov Health Care Fraud and Abuse Cliff Binder Analyst in Health Care Financing 7-7965 cbinder@crs.loc.gov Gary J. Pagliano Section Research Manager 7-1750 gpagliano@crs.loc.gov Stephen Daggett Specialist in Defense Policy and Budgets 7-7642 sdaggett@crs.loc.gov Amy Belasco Specialist in Defense Policy and Budgets 7-7627 abelasco@crs.loc.gov Rebecca Nelson Analyst in International Trade and Finance 7-6819 rnelson@crs.loc.gov James Jackson Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-7751 jjackson@crs.loc.gov Foreign affairs, defense, and trade-related programs and agencies Coordinator (will help identify subject matter experts for unlisted areas) Department of Defense (DOD) operations Sovereign debt in advanced economies Congressional Research Service 2 The Debt Limit: CRS Experts Legislative Issues International Credit Ratings Name/Title Phone E-mail James Jackson Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-7751 jjackson@crs.loc.gov Agriculture, Environment, Natural Resources, Science and Technology, and Transportation programs and agencies Coordinator (will help identify subject matter experts for all areas) Ralph M. Chite Section Research Manager 7-7296 rchite@crs.loc.gov Author Contact Information Donald J. Marples Section Research Manager dmarples@crs.loc.gov, 7-3739 Congressional Research Service 3