Japan 2011 Disaster: CRS Experts

Japan 2011 Disaster: CRS Experts Ben Dolven Section Research Manager April 7, 2011 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R41692 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress Japan 2011 Disaster: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to the nuclear and humanitarian disaster unfolding in Japan. Policy areas identified include • Nuclear power, nuclear safety, and radioactive heath concerns; • Geology, earthquakes, and tsunamis; • U.S. relations with Japan; • U.S. government response to the disaster; and • Economic impacts of the crisis. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Emma Chanlett-Avery Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7748 echanlettavery@crs.loc.gov Mark Manyin Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7653 mmanyin@crs.loc.gov Mark Holt Specialist in Energy Policy 7-1704 mholt@crs.loc.gov Mary Beth Nikitin Specialist in Nonproliferation 7-7745 mnikitin@crs.loc.gov Anthony Andrews Specialist in Energy and Defense 7-6843 aandrews@crs.loc.gov Richard Campbell Specialist in Energy Policy 7-7905 rcampbell@crs.loc.gov Carl Behrens Specialist in Energy Policy 7-8303 cbehrens@crs.loc.gov C. Stephen Redhead Specialist in Health Policy 7-2261 credhead@crs.loc.gov Jonathan Medalia Specialist in Nuclear Weapons Policy 7-7632 jmedalia@crs.loc.gov Renée Johnson Specialist in Agricultural Policy 7-9588 rjohnson@crs.loc.gov Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Rhoda Margesson Specialist in International Humanitarian Policy 7-0425 rmargesson@crs.loc.gov Japan/U.S.-Japan Relations Nuclear Industry/Nuclear Safety Health Impact of Radiation Food and Agriculture Geology: Earthquakes/Tsunami Humanitarian Response Congressional Research Service 1 Japan 2011 Disaster: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Francis McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Emma Chanlett-Avery Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7748 echanlettavery@crs.loc.gov Mark Manyin Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7653 mmanyin@crs.loc.gov William Cooper Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-7749 wcooper@crs.loc.gov Dick Nanto Specialist in Industry and Trade 7-7754 dnanto@crs.loc.gov Mark Manyin Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7653 mmanyin@crs.loc.gov Emma Chanlett-Avery Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7748 echanlettavery@crs.loc.gov Andrew Feickert Specialist in Military Ground Forces 7-7673 afeickert@crs.loc.gov Ronald O’Rourke Specialist in Naval Affairs 7-7610 rorourke@crs.loc.gov Mark Manyin Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-7653 mmanyin@crs.loc.gov Economic Impacts U.S. Military Assets in Japan/Military Response Author Contact Information Ben Dolven Section Research Manager bdolven@crs.loc.gov, 7-7626 Congressional Research Service 2