U.S. Policies on Iraq: CRS Experts

The following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to Iraq. Policy areas identified include: U.S. policies on Iraq; governance in Iraq and U.S. military issues; refugees, internally displaced persons, and humanitarian assistance; prospects for Iraq's economy; resource and funding requirements; and the international context--the regional political and security environment.

U.S. Policies on Iraq: CRS Experts Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs April 6, 2009 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R40927 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress U.S. Policies on Iraq: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to Iraq. Policy areas identified include: U.S. policies on Iraq; governance in Iraq and U.S. military issues; refugees, internally displaced persons, and humanitarian assistance; prospects for Iraq’s economy; resource and funding requirements; and the international context—the regional political and security environment. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Kenneth Katzman Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-7612 kkatzman@crs.loc.gov Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0428 cblanchard@crs.loc.gov Steve Bowman Specialist in National Security 7-5841 sbowman@crs.loc.gov Kenneth Katzman Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-7612 kkatzman@crs.loc.gov Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0428 cblanchard@crs.loc.gov Operation Iraqi Freedom Steve Bowman Specialist in National Security 7-5841 sbowman@crs.loc.gov U.S. military strategy and roles and missions of the U.S. Armed Forces Steve Bowman Specialist in National Security 7-5841 sbowman@crs.loc.gov Status of Forces Agreement R. Chuck Mason Legislative Attorney 7-9294 rcmason@crs.loc.gov Military contracts Valerie Bailey Grasso Specialist in Defense Acquisition 7-7617 vgrasso@crs.loc.gov Moshe Schwartz Specialist in Defense Acquisition 7-1463 mschwartz@crs.loc.gov Jennifer K. Elsea Legislative Attorney 7-5466 jelsea@crs.loc.gov Moshe Schwartz Specialist in Defense Acquisition 7-1463 mschwartz@crs.loc.gov Kennon H. Nakamura Analyst in Foreign Affairs 7-9514 knakamura@crs.loc.gov Hannah Fischer Information Research Specialist 7-8989 hfischer@crs.loc.gov Susan G. Chesser Information Research Specialist 7-9547 schesser@crs.loc.gov U.S. policies on Iraq Objectives, strategies, projections Governance in Iraq and U.S. military issues Government functions, structures, and current developments Private security contractors Iraqi and U.S. casualties Congressional Research Service 1 U.S. Policies on Iraq: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Rhoda Margesson Specialist in International Humanitarian Policy 7-0425 rmargesson@crs.loc.gov Andorra Bruno Specialist in Immigration Policy 7-7865 abruno@crs.loc.gov Jeremy M. Sharp Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-8687 jsharp@crs.loc.gov Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0428 cblanchard@crs.loc.gov Kenneth Katzman Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-7612 kkatzman@crs.loc.gov Debt relief Martin A. Weiss Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-5407 mweiss@crs.loc.gov Oil production and trade Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0428 cblanchard@crs.loc.gov Kenneth Katzman Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-7612 kkatzman@crs.loc.gov Refugees, internally displaced persons, and humanitarian assistance Needs, strategies, and programs Prospects for Iraq’s economy Economic conditions and prospects Resource and funding requirements Costs of the war and reconstruction Amy Belasco Specialist in U.S. Defense Policy and Budget 7-7627 abelasco@crs.loc.gov U.S. foreign assistance Curt Tarnoff Specialist in Foreign Affairs 7-7656 ctarnoff@crs.loc.gov Civilian reconstruction assistance Curt Tarnoff Specialist in Foreign Affairs 7-7656 ctarnoff@crs.loc.gov Military reconstruction assistance Steve Bowman Specialist in National Security 7-5841 sbowman@crs.loc.gov Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0428 cblanchard@crs.loc.gov Jeremy M. Sharp Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-8687 jsharp@crs.loc.gov Carol Migdalovitz Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-2667 cmigdalovitz@crs.loc.gov Saudi Arabia Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0428 cblanchard@crs.loc.gov Syria Jeremy M. Sharp Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-8687 jsharp@crs.loc.gov Jordan Jeremy M. Sharp Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-8687 jsharp@crs.loc.gov Turkey Carol Migdalovitz Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-2667 cmigdalovitz@crs.loc.gov The international context—the regional political and security environment Regional perspectives Congressional Research Service 2 U.S. Policies on Iraq: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Iran Name/Title Phone E-mail Kenneth Katzman Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-7612 kkatzman@crs.loc.gov Casey L. Addis Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-0846 caddis@crs.loc.gov Experts List Coordinator Christopher M. Blanchard Analyst in Middle Eastern Affairs cblanchard@crs.loc.gov, 7-0428 Congressional Research Service 3