Pakistan—Internal Stability and U.S. Response: CRS Experts

Pakistan—Internal Stability and U.S. Response: CRS Experts K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs November 30, 2009 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R40926 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress Pakistan—Internal Stability and U.S. Response: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to Pakistan’s internal stability and the U.S. response. Policy areas identified include: • Governance and political stability; • War on terrorism; • Pakistan as a nuclear power; • Democratization; • International policy responses; • U.S. support; and • International support. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs 7-5415 akronstadt@crs.loc.gov In Pakistan K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs 7-5415 akronstadt@crs.loc.gov Pakistan-Afghan border Kenneth Katzman Specialist in Middle Eastern Affairs 7-7612 kkatzman@crs.loc.gov Global John Rollins Specialist in Terrorism and National Security 7-5529 jrollins@crs.loc.gov Paul K. Kerr Analyst in Nonproliferation 7-8693 pkerr@crs.loc.gov Mary Beth Dunham Nikitin Analyst in Nonproliferation 7-7745 mnikitin@crs.loc.gov Dianne E. Rennack Specialist in Foreign Policy Legislation 7-7608 drennack@crs.loc.gov Martin A. Weiss Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-5407 mweiss@crs.loc.gov K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs 7-5415 akronstadt@crs.loc.gov United States K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs 7-5415 akronstadt@crs.loc.gov United Kingdom Paul Belkin Analyst in European Affairs 7-0220 pbelkin@crs.loc.gov NATO Paul Belkin Analyst in European Affairs 7-0220 pbelkin@crs.loc.gov Governance and political stability War on terrorism Pakistan as a nuclear power Proliferation concerns Sanctions Democratization International policy responses Congressional Research Service 1 Pakistan—Internal Stability and U.S. Response: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail India K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs 7-5415 akronstadt@crs.loc.gov China Shirley A. Kan Specialist in Asian Security Affairs 7-7606 skan@crs.loc.gov United Nations Luisa Blanchfield Specialist in International Relations 7-0856 lblanchfield@crs.loc.gov Environmental issues Bruce Vaughn Specialist in Asian Affairs 7-3144 bvaughn@crs.loc.gov Foreign aid Curt Tarnoff Specialist in Foreign Affairs 7-7656 ctarnoff@crs.loc.gov Military assistance and arms sales Richard F. Grimmett Specialist in International Security 7-7675 rgrimmett@crs.loc.gov Trade relations Mary Jane Bolle Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-7753 mjbolle@crs.loc.gov Humanitarian assistance Rhoda Margesson Specialist in International Humanitarian Policy 7-0425 rmargesson@crs.loc.gov International financial institutions Martin A. Weiss Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-5407 mweiss@crs.loc.gov U.S. support International support Experts List Coordinator K. Alan Kronstadt Specialist in South Asian Affairs akronstadt@crs.loc.gov, 7-5415 Congressional Research Service 2