Economic Recovery and Jobs: CRS Experts

Economic Recovery and Jobs: CRS Experts Jane G. Gravelle Senior Specialist in Economic Policy January 5, 2011 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R40922 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress Economic Recovery and Jobs: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to economic recovery and job losses, preservation, and creation. Policy areas identified include factors shaping the slowdown; broad policy options: coordination and tradeoffs; stimulus proposals: size, composition, and timing; and mortgage market support. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Thomas L. Hungerford Specialist in Public Finance 7-6422 thungerford@crs.loc.gov Credit market problems Edward V. Murphy Specialist in Financial Economics 7-6201 tmurphy@crs.loc.gov Subprime loans Edward V. Murphy Specialist in Financial Economics 7-6201 tmurphy@crs.loc.gov U.S. saving rate Darryl E. Getter Specialist in Financial Economics 7-2834 dgetter@crs.loc.gov Foreign direct investment in the United States James K. Jackson Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-7751 jjackson@crs.loc.gov Foreign markets and the U.S. economy Dick K. Nanto Specialist in Industry and Trade 7-7754 dnanto@crs.loc.gov Energy prices Carl E. Behrens Specialist in Energy Policy 7-8303 cbehrens@crs.loc.gov Marc Labonte Specialist in Macroeconomic Policy 7-0640 mlabonte@crs.loc.gov Monetary policy Marc Labonte Specialist in Macroeconomic Policy 7-0640 mlabonte@crs.loc.gov Fiscal stimulus Marc Labonte Specialist in Macroeconomic Policy 7-0640 mlabonte@crs.loc.gov Jane G. Gravelle Senior Specialist in Economic Policy 7-7829 jgravelle@crs.loc.gov Craig K. Elwell Specialist in Macroeconomic Policy 7-7757 celwell@crs.loc.gov Jane G. Gravelle Senior Specialist in Economic Policy 7-7829 jgravelle@crs.loc.gov Jane G. Gravelle Senior Specialist in Economic Policy 7-7829 jgravelle@crs.loc.gov Thomas L. Hungerford Specialist in Public Finance 7-6422 thungerford@crs.loc.gov Christine Scott Specialist in Social Policy 7-7366 cscott@crs.loc.gov Factors shaping the slowdown Broad policy options: coordination and tradeoffs Global financial interventions Stimulus proposals: size, composition, and timing Tax rebates and tax cuts Tax credits (e.g., earned income, child care) Congressional Research Service 1 Economic Recovery and Jobs: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Gary Guenther Analyst in Public Finance 7-7742 gguenther@crs.loc.gov Jane G. Gravelle Senior Specialist in Economic Policy 7-7829 jgravelle@crs.loc.gov Julie M. Whittaker Specialist in Income Security 7-2587 jwhittaker@crs.loc.gov Katelin Isaacs Analyst in Income Security 7-7355 kisaacs@crs.loc.gov Food stamps Joe Richardson Specialist in Social Policy 7-7325 jirichardson@crs.loc.gov Job creation, public works, and public services Linda Levine Specialist in Labor Economics 7-7756 llevine@crs.loc.gov State fiscal assistance Steven Maguire Specialist in Public Finance 7-7841 smaguire@crs.loc.gov State budgets and Medicaid Cliff Binder Analyst in Health Care Financing 7-7965 cbinder@crs.loc.gov Small business Robert Jay Dilger Senior Specialist in American National Government 7-3110 rdilger@crs.loc.gov Oscar Gonzales Analyst in Economic Development Policy 7-0764 ogonzales@crs.loc.gov Darryl E. Getter Specialist in Financial Economics 7-2834 dgetter@crs.loc.gov Edward V. Murphy Specialist in Financial Economics 7-6201 tmurphy@crs.loc.gov Tax incentives for businesses Unemployment compensation Mortgage market support Experts List Coordinator Jane G. Gravelle Senior Specialist in Economic Policy jgravelle@crs.loc.gov, 7-7829 Congressional Research Service 2