2009 H1N1 "Swine Flu": CRS Experts

This report includes a table which provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to swine influenza A virus (H1N1). Policy areas identified include: Identification, diagnosis, and surveillance of the virus; Treatment and prevention: antiviral drugs (Tamiflu, Relenza) and vaccines; Declarations of emergencies; Official plans and organizational responsibilities; and Restrictions on travel and trade.

2009 H1N1 “Swine Flu”: CRS Experts Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology October 26, 2009 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R40845 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress 2009 H1N1 “Swine Flu”: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to swine influenza A virus (H1N1). Policy areas identified include: • Identification, diagnosis, and surveillance of the virus; • Treatment and prevention: antiviral drugs (Tamiflu, Relenza) and vaccines; • Declarations of emergencies; • Official plans and organizational responsibilities; and • Restrictions on travel and trade. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov C. Stephen Redhead Specialist in Health Policy 7-2261 credhead@crs.loc.gov Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov C. Stephen Redhead Specialist in Health Policy 7-2261 credhead@crs.loc.gov Emergency authorities Vanessa K. Burrows Legislative Attorney 7-0831 vburrows@crs.loc.gov Development and testing Frank Gottron Specialist in Science and Technology Policy 7-5854 fgottron@crs.loc.gov Production capabilities and issues Frank Gottron Specialist in Science and Technology Policy 7-5854 fgottron@crs.loc.gov Stockpiles, distribution, and priorities C. Stephen Redhead Specialist in Health Policy 7-2261 credhead@crs.loc.gov Susan Thaul Specialist in Drug Safety and Effectiveness 7-0562 sthaul@crs.loc.gov Erin D. Williams Specialist in Health and Bioethics 7-4897 ewilliams@crs.loc.gov Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov Kathleen S. Swendiman Legislative Attorney 7-9105 kswendiman@crs.loc.gov Identification, diagnosis, and surveillance of the virus Treatment and prevention: antiviral drugs (Tamiflu, Relenza) and vaccines Medical facilities and staff, availability and preparedness Declarations of emergencies U.S. public health emergency declarations Congressional Research Service 1 2009 H1N1 “Swine Flu”: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Edward C. Liu Legislative Attorney 7-9166 eliu@crs.loc.gov Kellie Moss Analyst in Global Health 7-7314 kmoss@crs.loc.gov Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov C. Stephen Redhead Specialist in Health Policy 7-2261 credhead@crs.loc.gov FDA responsibilities Erin D. Williams Specialist in Health and Bioethics 7-4897 ewilliams@crs.loc.gov DOD support to civilian authorities Lawrence Kapp Specialist in Military Manpower Policy 7-7609 lkapp@crs.loc.gov Customs and Border Protection responsibilities Chad C. Haddal Analyst in Immigration Policy 7-3701 chaddal@crs.loc.gov FEMA responsibilities Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov World Health Organization responsibilities Kellie Moss Analyst in Global Health 7-7314 kmoss@crs.loc.gov U.S.-Mexican cooperation Mark P. Sullivan Specialist in Latin American Affairs 7-7689 msullivan@crs.loc.gov U.S.-Canadian cooperation Carl Ek Specialist in International Relations 7-7286 cek@crs.loc.gov Quarantine authorities Kathleen S. Swendiman Legislative Attorney 7-9105 kswendiman@crs.loc.gov Immigration and visas Ruth Ellen Wasem Specialist in Immigration Policy 7-7342 rwasem@crs.loc.gov International travel Kennon H. Nakamura Analyst in Foreign Affairs 7-9514 knakamura@crs.loc.gov International trade Ian F. Fergusson Specialist in International Trade and Finance 7-4997 ifergusson@crs.loc.gov Jeanne J. Grimmett Legislative Attorney 7-5046 jgrimmett@crs.loc.gov U.S. Stafford Act disaster and emergency declarations World Health Organization phased alerts Official plans and organizational responsibilities U.S. pandemic influenza strategies and plans CDC responsibilities Global pandemic influenza strategies and plans Restrictions on travel and trade Congressional Research Service 2 2009 H1N1 “Swine Flu”: CRS Experts Experts List Coordinator Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology slister@crs.loc.gov, 7-7320 Congressional Research Service 3