Natural Disasters and Hazards: CRS Experts Amy Abel Section Research Manager Jennifer E. Lake Section Research Manager September 2, 2015 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R43519 Natural Disasters and Hazards: CRS Experts The following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy and legal issues relating to natural disasters and hazards in the United States. Policy areas identified include federal authorities related to natural disasters, specific consequences, federal disaster assistance, funding and financing, preparedness, and science. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone Email Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) David Bearden Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-2390 dbearden@crs.loc.gov Defense Production Act of 1950 (DPA) Jared T. Brown Analyst in Emergency Management and Homeland Security Policy 7-4918 jbrown@crs.loc.gov Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) David Bearden Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-2390 dbearden@crs.loc.gov Federal Crop Insurance Act Megan Stubbs Specialist in Agricultural Conservation and Natural Resources Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) Linda Luther Analyst in Environmental Policy 7-6852 lluther@crs.loc.gov National Flood Insurance Act Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Oil Pollution Act of 1990 Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-7919 jramseur@crs.loc.gov Posse Comitatus Act Jennifer K. Elsea Legislative Attorney 7-5466 jelsea@crs.loc.gov Public Health Service Act, other public health authorities Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov Federal Authorities Related to Natural Disasters Stafford Act Declarations Specific Consequences of Natural Hazards and Disasters Debris Removal and Disposal Linda Luther Analyst in Environmental Policy 7-6852 lluther@crs.loc.gov Evacuations and Sheltering Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Public Health Sarah Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov Temporary Housing and Public Facilities Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Linda K. Moore Specialist in Telecommunications Policy 7-5853 lmoore@crs.loc.gov Communications First Responder Congressional Research Service 1 Natural Disasters and Hazards: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone Email Social Media Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Warning Systems Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Agriculture Megan Stubbs Specialist in Agricultural Conservation and Natural Resources Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov Drinking Water Quality Mary Tiemann Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-5937 mtiemann@crs.loc.gov Ecosystems and Coastal Wetlands Pervaze A. Sheikh Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-6070 psheikh@crs.loc.gov Environmental Review/NEPA Linda Luther Analyst in Environmental Policy 7-6852 lluther@crs.loc.gov Fisheries Harold F. Upton Analyst in Natural Resources Policy 7-2264 hupton@crs.loc.gov Water Availability Betsy Cody Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-7229 bcody@crs.loc.gov Wildlife Lynne Corn Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-7267 lcorn@crs.loc.gov Electric Power Production Richard Campbell Specialist in Energy Policy 7-7905 rcampbell@crs.loc.gov Fuel Supply Interruptions Paul Parfomak Specialist in Energy and Infrastructure Policy 7-0030 pparfomak@crs.loc.gov River Barges, Railroads John Frittelli Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7033 jfrittelli@crs.loc.gov Roads, Highways, and Transit Robert S. Kirk Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7769 rkirk@crs.loc.gov Flood Control, Dams and Levees—Legal Issues Cynthia Brown Legislative Attorney 7-9121 cmbrown@crs.loc.gov Floodplain Mapping Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Levee Certification Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Levees, Dams, and Shore Protection Nicole Carter Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-0854 ncarter@crs.loc.gov Environmental Consequences Infrastructure Flood Control Systems Federal Disaster Assistance Stafford Act Assistance Congressional Research Service 2 Natural Disasters and Hazards: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone Email Community Disaster Loan Program (CDL) Jared Brown Analyst in Homeland Security and Emergency Management Policy 7-4918 jbrown@crs.loc.gov Crisis Counseling Sarah Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) Julie M. Whittaker Specialist in Income Security 7-2857 jwhittaker@crs.loc.gov Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Emergency Response David M. Bearden Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-2390 dbearden@crs.loc.gov Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Individual and Household Program (IHP)—Housing/Other Needs Assistance Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Public Assistance (PA) Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov U.S. Department of Agriculture Land Rehabilitation Megan Stubbs Specialist in Agricultural Conservation and Natural Resources Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov Bureau of Reclamation Assistance Betsy Cody Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-7229 bcody@crs.loc.gov Community Development Block Grant (CDBG-DR) Eugene Boyd Analyst in Federalism and Economic Development Policy 7-8689 eboyd@crs.loc.gov Department of Defense and National Guard Support Lawrence Kapp Specialist in Military Manpower Policy 7-7609 lkapp@crs.loc.gov Federal Highway and Transit Robert S. Kirk Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7769 rkirk@crs.loc.gov International Response to Domestic U.S. Disasters Rhoda Margesson Specialist in International Humanitarian Policy 7-0425 rmargesson@crs.loc.gov Liability for Damages Cynthia Brown Legislative Attorney 7-9121 cmbrown@crs.loc.gov U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development Tadlock Cowan Analyst in Agricultural Policy 7-7600 tcowan@crs.loc.gov Small Business Administration (SBA) Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nicole Carter Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-0854 ncarter@crs.loc.gov U.S. Department of Agriculture Conservation Programs Megan Stubbs Specialist in Agricultural Conservation and Natural Resources Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov U.S. Department of Agriculture Disaster Assistance Megan Stubbs Specialist in Agricultural Conservation and Natural Resources Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov Non-Stafford Act Assistance Congressional Research Service 3 Natural Disasters and Hazards: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone Email Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov William L. Painter Analyst in Emergency Management and Homeland Security Policy 7-3335 wpainter@crs.loc.gov Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Jared T. Brown Analyst in Emergency Management and Homeland Security Policy 7-4918 jbrown@crs.loc.gov Crop Insurance Megan Stubbs Specialist in Agricultural Conservation and Natural Resources Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov Tax Relief Erika Lunder Legislative Attorney 7-4538 elunder@crs.loc.gov Catastrophic Risk Financing Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Jared T. Brown Analyst in Emergency Management and Homeland Security Policy 7-4918 jbrown@crs.loc.gov Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Preparedness Grant Programs Natalie Keegan Analyst in American Federalism and Emergency Management Policy 7-9569 nkeegan@crs.loc.gov Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov National Exercise Program Eric Petersen Specialist in American National Government 7-0643 epetersen@crs.loc.gov Climate Variability Jane Leggett Specialist in Energy and Environmental Policy 7-9525 jaleggett@crs.loc.gov Drought Betsy A. Cody Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-7229 bcody@crs.loc.gov Earthquakes Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Flooding Nicole T. Carter Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-0854 ncarter@crs.loc.gov Hurricane Science Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Funding and Financing Disaster Relief Fund (DRF) National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Preparedness National Strategies and Policies Science of Natural Hazards Congressional Research Service 4 Natural Disasters and Hazards: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone Email Satellite Technology and Observations Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Tornadoes Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov U.S. Drought Monitor Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Wildfires Katie Hoover Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-9008 khoover@crs.loc.gov Author Contact Information Amy Abel Section Research Manager aabel@crs.loc.gov, 7-7239 Congressional Research Service Jennifer E. Lake Section Research Manager jlake@crs.loc.gov, 7-0620 5