

Latin America and the Caribbean: Fact Sheet on Leaders and Elections

Mark P. Sullivan
Specialist in Latin American Affairs

September 17, 2012

Congressional Research Service

7-5700 www.crs.gov

98-684

Table 1. South America

Country	Independence Date	Head of Government	Last Election	Next Election
Argentina	July 9, 1816	FERNANDEZ DE KIRCHNER, Cristina	Oct. 23, 2011	Oct. 2015
Bolivia	Aug. 6, 1825	MORALES, Evo	Dec. 6, 2009	Dec. 2014
Brazil	Sept. 7, 1822	ROUSSEFF, Dilma	Oct. 3, 2010/ Oct. 31, 2010	Oct. 2014
Chile	Sept. 18, 1810	PIÑERA, Sebastián	Dec. 13, 2009/Jan. 17, 2010	Dec. 2013
Colombia	July 20, 1810	SANTOS, Juan Manuel	May 30, 2010/June 20, 2010	May 2014
Ecuador	May 24, 1822	CORREA, Rafael	Apr. 26, 2009	Apr. 2013
Paraguay	May 14, 1811	FRANCO, Federico ^a	Apr. 20, 2008	Apr. 2013
Peru	July 28, 1821	HUMALA, Ollanta	Apr. 10, 2011/June 5, 2011 (2 nd round)	Apr. 2016
Uruguay	Aug. 25, 1825	MUJICA, José	Oct. 25, 2009/ Nov. 29, 2009	Oct. 2014
Venezuela	July 5, 1811	CHÁVEZ, Hugo	Dec. 3, 2006	Oct. 7, 2012

a. Fernando Lugo, elected Paraguay's President on April 20, 2008, was impeached by Paraguay's Congress on June 22, 2012, and succeeded by Vice President Federico Franco. The rapid impeachment process raised concern about President Lugo's due process, and created tensions with several countries in the region. Two regional bodies, the Common Market of the South (Mercosur) and the Union of South American Nations (Unasur), suspended Paraguay's participation.

Table 2. Mexico and Central America

Country	Independence Date	Head of Government	Last Election	Next Election
Mexico	Sept. 16, 1810	CALDERÓN, Felipe ^a	July 1, 2012	July 2018
Costa Rica	Sept. 15, 1821	CHINCHILLA Miranda, Laura	Feb. 7, 2010	Feb. 2014
El Salvador	Sept. 15, 1821	FUNES, Mauricio	Mar. 15, 2009	Mar. 2014
Guatemala	Sept. 15, 1821	PÉREZ MOLINA, Otto	Sept. 11, 2011/ Nov. 6, 2011	Sep. 2015
Honduras	Sept. 15, 1821	LOBO SOSA, Porfirio	Nov. 29, 2009	Nov. 2013
Nicaragua	Sept. 15, 1821	ORTEGA, Daniel	Nov. 6, 2011	Nov. 2016
Panama	Nov. 3, 1903	MARTINELLI, Ricardo	May 3, 2009	May 2014

a. Enrique Peña Nieto won Mexico's presidential election on July 1, 2012. He will take office on December 1, 2012.

Table 3. Caribbean

Country	Independence Date	Head of Government	Last Election	Next Election
Antigua and Barbuda	Nov. I, 1981	SPENCER, Baldwin	Mar. 12, 2009	by July 2014
Bahamas	July 10, 1973	CHRISTIE, Perry	May 7, 2012	by May 2017
Barbados	Nov. 30, 1966	STUART, Freundel ^a	Jan. 15, 2008	by May 2013
Belize	Sept. 21, 1981	BARROW, Dean	Mar. 7, 2012	by June 2017
Cuba	May 20, 1902	CASTRO RUZ, Raúl	b	b
Dominica	Nov. 3, 1978	SKERRITT, Roosevelt	Dec. 18, 2009	by Mar. 2015
Dominican Republic	Feb. 27, 1844	MEDINA, Danilo	May 20, 2012	May 2016
Grenada	Feb. 7, 1974	THOMAS, Tillman	July 8, 2008	by July 2013
Guyana	May 26, 1966	RAMOTAR, Donald	Nov. 28, 2011	by Nov. 2016
Haiti	Jan. 1, 1804	MARTELLY, Michel	Nov. 28, 2010/Mar. 20, 2011	late 2015
Jamaica	Aug. 6, 1962	SIMPSON MILLER, Portia	Dec. 29, 2011	by December 2016
St. Kitts and Nevis	Sept. 19, 1983	DOUGLAS, Denzil	Jan. 25, 2010	by Jan. 2015
St. Lucia	Feb. 22, 1979	ANTHONY, Kenny	Nov. 28, 2011	by Nov. 2016
St. Vincent and the Grenadines	Oct. 27, 1979	GONSALVES, Ralph	Dec. 13, 2010	by Dec. 2015
Suriname	Nov. 25, 1975	BOUTERSE, Desic	May 25, 2010 ^c	May 2015
Trinidad and Tobago	Aug. 31, 1962	PERSAD-BISSESSAR, Kamla	May 24, 2010	by May 2015

Freundel Stuart was selected as prime minister on October 23, 2010, following the death of Prime Minister David Thompson.

Author Contact Information

Mark P. Sullivan Specialist in Latin American Affairs msullivan@crs.loc.gov, 7-7689

b. On February 24, 2008, Raúl Castro was selected by Cuba's legislature as president of the Council of State, a position that makes him head of state and government. Raúl had been serving as acting president since July 31, 2006, when Cuba's long-serving communist leader, Fidel Castro, stepped down provisionally because of poor health. Since the 1959 Cuban Revolution, there have been no elections for head of government.

c. Suriname held National Assembly elections on May 25, 2010, but under Suriname's system of government, the country's president is not elected directly by voters, but by a two-thirds majority vote of the Assembly (or failing that, by a majority of the United People's Assembly comprised of more than 800 regional and municipal officials). On July 19, 2010, the National Assembly elected Desi Bouterse as president, with 36 out of 51 votes.