Flooding Events: CRS Experts Amy Abel Section Research Manager June 27, 2012 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R40882 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress Flooding Events: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to flooding events in the United States. Policy areas identified include impacts, response and recovery, mitigation, and federal financing. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Displaced residents Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Drinking water Mary Tiemann Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-5937 mtiemann@crs.loc.gov Wastewater treatment Claudia Copeland Specialist in Resources and Environmental Policy 7-7227 ccopeland@crs.loc.gov Agricultural production Dennis A. Shields Specialist in Agricultural Policy 7-9051 dshields@crs.loc.gov River barges, railroads John Frittelli Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7033 jfrittelli@crs.loc.gov Highways and bridges Robert S. Kirk Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7769 rkirk@crs.loc.gov Levees, dams, and shore protection Nicole Carter Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-0854 ncarter@crs.loc.gov Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Edward C. Liu Legislative Attorney 7-9166 eliu@crs.loc.gov Emergency Response Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Public health Sarah A. Lister Specialist in Public Health and Epidemiology 7-7320 slister@crs.loc.gov Federal flood insurance and levee certification Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Liability for Damages Cynthia Brougher Legislative Attorney 7-9121 cbrougher@crs.loc.gov Small Business Administration disaster loans Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Agricultural relief Dennis A. Shields Specialist in Agricultural Policy 7-9051 dshields@crs.loc.gov Rural development assistance Tadlock Cowan Analyst in Agricultural Policy 7-7600 tcowan@crs.loc.gov Rural land assistance Megan Stubbs Analyst in Agricultural Policy 7-8707 mstubbs@crs.loc.gov Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) emergency response David M. Bearden Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-2390 dbearden@crs.loc.gov Impacts Response and recovery Disaster declarations and federal assistance Congressional Research Service 1 Flooding Events: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Debris removal Linda Luther Analyst in Environmental Policy 7-6852 lluther@crs.loc.gov Evacuation Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Emergency planning Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov Floodplain mapping Rawle O. King Specialist in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov Flood control, dams, and levees Nicole Carter Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-0854 ncarter@crs.loc.gov Federal disaster assistance Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Bruce R. Lindsay Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-3752 blindsay@crs.loc.gov William L. Painter Analyst in Emergency Management and Homeland Security Policy 7-3335 wpainter@crs.loc.gov Erika Lunder Legislative Attorney 7-4538 elunder@crs.loc.gov Mitigation Federal financing Disaster Relief Fund Tax relief Experts List Coordinator Amy Abel Section Research Manager aabel@crs.loc.gov, 7-7239 Congressional Research Service 2