

Latin America and the Caribbean: Fact Sheet on Leaders and Elections

Julissa Gomez-Granger Information Research Specialist

Mark P. Sullivan Specialist in Latin American Affairs

August 9, 2010

Congressional Research Service

7-5700 www.crs.gov 98-684

Summary

This fact sheet tracks the current heads of government in Central and South America, Mexico, and the Caribbean. It provides the dates of the last and next elections for the head of government and the national independence date for each country.

Contents

Tables

Table 1. South America	1
Table 2. Mexico and Central America	1
Table 3. Caribbean	2
Contacts	
Author Contact Information	3

Table I. South America

Country	Independence Date	Head of Government	Last Election	Next Election
Argentina	July 9, 1816	FERNANDEZ DE KIRCHNER, Cristina	Oct. 28, 2007	Oct. 2011
Bolivia	Aug. 6, 1825	MORALES, Evo	Dec. 6, 2009	Dec. 2014
Brazil	Sept. 7, 1822	DA SILVA, Luis Inácio Lula	Oct. 1, 2006 / Oct. 29, 2006	Oct. 3, 2010
Chile	Sept. 18, 1810	PIÑERA, Sebastián	Dec. 13, 2009 / Jan. 17, 2010	Dec. 2013
Colombia	July 20, 1810	SANTOS, Juan Manuel	May 30, 2010 / June 20, 2010	May 2014
Ecuador	May 24, 1822	CORREA, Rafael	Apr. 26, 2009	Apr. 2013
Paraguay	May 14, 1811	LUGO, Fernando	Apr. 20, 2008	Apr. 2013
Peru	July 28, 1821	GARCIA, Alan	Apr. 9, 2006 / June 4, 2006	Apr. 2011
Uruguay	Aug. 25, 1825	MUJICA, José	Oct. 25, 2009 / Nov. 29, 2009	Oct. 2014
Venezuela	July 5, 1811	CHÁVEZ, Hugo	Dec. 3, 2006	Dec. 2012

Table 2. Mexico and Central America

Country	Independence Date	Head of Government	Last Election	Next Election
Mexico	Sept. 16, 1810	CALDERÓN, Felipe	July 2, 2006	July 2012
Costa Rica	Sept. 15. 1821	CHINCHILLA Miranda, Laura	Feb. 7, 2010	Feb. 2014
El Salvador	Sept. 15, 1821	FUNES, Mauricio	Mar. 15, 2009	Mar. 2014
Guatemala	Sept. 15, 1821	COLOM, Alvaro	Sept. 9, 2007/ Nov. 4, 2007	Sept. 2011
Honduras	Sept. 15, 1821	LOBO SOSA, Porfirio	Nov. 29, 2009	Nov. 2013
Nicaragua	Sept. 15, 1821	ORTEGA, Daniel	Nov. 5, 2006	Nov. 2011
Panama	Nov. 3, 1903	MARTINELLI, Ricardo	May 3, 2009	May 2014

Table 3. Caribbean

Country	Independence Date	Head of Government	Last Election	Next Election
Antigua and Barbuda	Nov. I, 1981	SPENCER, Baldwin	Mar. 12, 2009	by July 2014
Bahamas	July 10, 1973	INGRAHAM, Hubert	May 2, 2007	by Aug. 2012
Barbados	Nov. 30, 1966	THOMPSON, David	Jan. 15, 2008	by May 2013
Belize	Sept. 21, 1981	BARROW, Dean	Feb. 7, 2008	by June 2013
Cuba	May 20, 1902	CASTRO RUZ, Raúl	a	a
Dominica	Nov. 3, 1978	SKERRITT, Roosevelt	Dec. 18, 2009	by Mar. 2015
Dominican Republic	Feb. 27, 1844	FERNANDEZ, Leonel	May 16, 2008	May 2012
Grenada	Feb. 7, 1974	THOMAS, Tillman	July 8, 2008	by July 2013
Guyana	May 26, 1966	BHARRAT, Jagdeo	Aug. 28, 2006	by Dec. 2011
Haiti	Jan. I, 1804	PRÉVAL, Réne	Feb. 7, 2006	Nov. 28, 2010
Jamaica	Aug. 6, 1962	GOLDING, Bruce	Sept. 3, 2007	by Sept. 2012
St. Kitts and Nevis	Sept. 19, 1983	DOUGLAS, Denzil	Jan. 25, 2010	by Jan. 2015
St. Lucia	Feb. 22, 1979	KING, Stephenson b	Dec. 11, 2006	by Dec. 2011
St. Vincent and the Grenadines	Oct. 27, 1979	GONSALVES, Ralph	Dec. 7, 2005	by Dec. 2010
Suriname	Nov. 25, 1975	BOUTERSE, Desic	May 25, 2010 ^c	May 2015
Trinidad and Tobago	Aug. 31, 1962	PERSAD-BISSESSAR, Kamla	May 24, 2010	by May 2015

a. On February 24, 2008, Raúl Castro was selected by Cuba's legislature as President of the Council of State, a position that makes him head of state and government. Raúl had been serving as acting president since July 31, 2006, when Cuba's long-serving communist leader, Fidel Castro, stepped down provisionally because of poor health. Since the 1959 Cuban Revolution, there have been no elections for head of government.

b. Stephenson King was sworn in as prime minister on September 10, 2007, following the death of Prime Minister John Compton, who had been elected in December 2006.

c. Suriname held National Assembly elections on May 25, 2010, but under Suriname's system of government, the country's president is not elected directly by voters, but by a two-thirds majority vote of the Assembly (or failing that, by a majority of the United People's Assembly comprised of more than 800 regional and municipal officials). On July 19, 2010, the National Assembly elected Desi Bouterse as president, with 36 out of 51 votes.

Author Contact Information

Julissa Gomez-Granger Information Research Specialist jgomezgranger@crs.loc.gov, 7-8981 Mark P. Sullivan Specialist in Latin American Affairs msullivan@crs.loc.gov, 7-7689