Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico: CRS Experts Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy July 12, 2010 Congressional Research Service 7-5700 www.crs.gov R40883 CRS Report for Congress Prepared for Members and Committees of Congress Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico: CRS Experts T he following table provides access to names and contact information for CRS experts on policy concerns relating to oil spills. Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail 7-7919 jramseur@crs.loc.gov Robert Meltz Legislative Attorney 7-7891 rmeltz@crs.loc.gov James Nichols Law Clerk 7-5812 jnichols@crs.loc.gov Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-7919 jramseur@crs.loc.gov Gene Whitney Section Research Manager 7-7231 gwhitney@crs.loc.gov Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Marc Humphries Analyst in Energy Policy 7-7264 mhumphries@crs.loc.gov Linda Levine Specialist in Labor Economics 7-7756 llevine@crs.loc.gov Jon Shimabukuro Legislative Attorney 7-7990 jshimabukuro@crs.loc.gov Claudia Copeland Specialist in Resources and Environmental Policy 7-7227 ccopeland@crs.loc.gov Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-7919 jramseur@crs.loc.gov Mary Tiemann Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-5937 mtiemann@crs.loc.gov OIL SPILL FUNDAMENTALS Oil spill prevention and cleanup policy Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy OIL SPILL LIABILITY AND COMPENSATION FRAMEWORK Oil spill liability issues Oil Spill Liability Trust Fund OIL EXPLORATION Oil extraction technologies Leasing and production Worker safety issues / Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACTS Water pollution Dispersants Drinking water impacts Congressional Research Service 1 Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail Oil spill effects on marine ecosystems Fish and marine mammals Eugene H. Buck Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-7262 gbuck@crs.loc.gov Sea birds and endangered species M. Lynne Corn Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-7267 lcorn@crs.loc.gov Impacts on protected species Kristina Alexander Legislative Attorney 7-8597 kalexander@crs.loc.gov Kristina Alexander Legislative Attorney 7-8597 kalexander@crs.loc.gov Linda Luther Analyst in Environmental Policy 7-6852 lluther@crs.loc.gov 7-6852 lluther@crs.loc.gov 7-2264 hupton@crs.loc.gov Harold Upton Analyst in Natural Resources Policy 7-2264 hupton@crs.loc.gov Rawle O. King Analyst in Financial Economics and Risk Assessment 7-5975 rking@crs.loc.gov John Frittelli Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7033 jfrittelli@crs.loc.gov Neelesh Nerurkar Specialist in Energy Policy 7-2873 nnerurkar@crs.loc.gov Shipping and maritime transportation John Frittelli Specialist in Transportation Policy 7-7033 jfrittelli@crs.loc.gov Oil spill response authorities and activities Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy 7-7919 jramseur@crs.loc.gov National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) Waste disposal (e.g., wastestreams from cleanup activities) Linda Luther Analyst in Environmental Policy ECONOMIC IMPACTS Fishing industry and disaster assistance Harold Upton Analyst in Natural Resources Policy Beaches, recreation, and tourism Disaster insurance Transportation / Shipping International oil and gas markets FEDERAL AGENCY ROLES U.S. Coast Guard Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation, and Enforcement (BOEMRE)—formerly the Minerals Management Service (MMS) Curry L. Hagerty Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy 7-7738 chagerty@crs.loc.gov Adam Vann Legislative Attorney 7-6978 avann@crs.loc.gov Congressional Research Service 2 Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico: CRS Experts Legislative Issues Name/Title Phone E-mail 7-1517 pfolger@crs.loc.gov Francis X. McCarthy Analyst in Emergency Management Policy 7-9533 fmccarthy@crs.loc.gov Edward Liu Legislative Attorney 7-9166 eliu@crs.loc.gov Nicole Carter Specialist in Natural Resources Policy 7-0854 ncarter@crs.loc.gov Charles V. Stern Analyst in Natural Resources Policy 7-7786 cstern@crs.loc.gov Ronald O’Rourke Specialist in Naval Affairs 7-7610 rorourke@crs.loc.gov Lawrence Kapp Specialist in Military Manpower Policy 7-7609 lkapp@crs.loc.gov National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Peter Folger Specialist in Energy and Natural Resources Policy Disaster declarations / Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) U.S. Army Corps of Engineers U.S. Navy U.S. National Guard Experts List Coordinator Jonathan L. Ramseur Specialist in Environmental Policy jramseur@crs.loc.gov, 7-7919 Congressional Research Service 3